HARRISBURG, N.C. -- The eighth annual Sprint Pit Crew Challenge will be May 17 at Time Warner Cable Arena in Charlotte, N.C.
Similar to other leagues' all-star skills competitions, the Pit Crew Challenge features the top-24 Sprint Cup Series pit crews and has them compete in individual and team trials. The No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing team, which pits the car of driver Denny Hamlin, has won the past two competitions.
All-Star fever

Getting ramped up for the 2012 Sprint All-Star Race? Make sure you check in on the race site for both the Sprint Fan Vote and all the information on the eligible drivers.
Sprint All-Star Race site
"NASCAR is truly a team sport and requires the skill and talent of the drivers, crew chiefs, pit crews, mechanics, those back at the shop and many more," said Robin Pemberton, vice president of competition. "The NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge showcases a vital element of our sport. The pit crews give it their all to prove who's the best."
One of several events during All-Star Week, the Pit Crew Challenge will be at 7 p.m. ET and will air at 8 p.m. on SPEED. Tickets prices start at $15, while children 2-12 are half price. Tickets to the pit-crew skills competition are on sale at www.pitcrewchallenge.com or by calling Time Warner Cable Arena box office at (800) 745-3000.
"The NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge allows our sport to shine a spotlight on an essential but often overlooked component of team performance -- the pit crew," said Tim Considine, director of sports marketing for Sprint. "It's an extremely exciting, fan-friendly event, and we're excited to see the fans come out to support these unsung heroes of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series racing."
To qualify for the event, teams must be eligible for the All-Star Race on May 19 or be the 2011 Pit Crew Challenge champion. All-Star Race eligibility includes all Cup race winners from 2011 and 2012, All-Star Race winners from the past 10 years and Cup Series champions from the past 10 years who are active and have competed in at least one series event during the 2011 or 2012 season. Remaining positions will be available to the car owners ranked highest in the 2012 Cup Series owner point standings as of May 15.
The following teams are currently eligible: No. 2 (Brad Keselowski), No. 5 (Kasey Kahne), No. 9 (Marcos Ambrose), No. 11 (Hamlin), No. 14 (Tony Stewart), No. 15 (Clint Bowyer), No. 16 (Greg Biffle), No. 17 (Matt Kenseth), No. 18 (Kyle Busch), No. 21 (AJ Allmendinger), No. 24 (Jeff Gordon), No. 27 (Paul Menard), No. 29 (Kevin Harvick), No. 34 (David Ragan), No. 39 (Ryan Newman), No. 48 (Jimmie Johnson), No. 51 (Kurt Busch), No. 55 (Mark Martin), No. 78 (Regan Smith) and No. 99 (Carl Edwards).
For more information, visit www.pitcrewchallenge.com.

Source: Nascar.com

Similar Newsgab Articles: