Toss Sri Lanka chose to bat v Pakistan
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details
A paltry score batting first in the first ODI at this ground didn't deter Mahela Jayawardene from batting first again after winning the toss. Jayawardene expected the pitch, which appeared drier, to be better for batting this time. The wet weather leading up to the first game had spiced up the surface, giving the bowlers a distinct advantage. However, the rain kept off during the gap between the two games.
Pakistan had to make a forced change, leaving out Mohammad Sami, who injured his thumb, for the uncapped Rahat Ali. It was a blow for Sami, who bowled impressively in his ODI comeback after nearly five years to pick up three wickets. Rahat, the left-arm seamer, was picked for the tour on the back of a strong domestic season, in which he took more than 60 first-class wickets.
Sri Lanka went in with an unchanged line-up.
Pakistan:1 Mohammad Hafeez, 2 Azhar Ali, 3 Younis Khan, 4 Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), 5 Umar Akmal, 6 Shahid Afridi, 7 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), 8 Sohail Tanvir, 9 Umar Gul, 10 Saeed Ajmal, 11 Rahat Ali
Sri Lanka: 1 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 2 Mahela Jayawardene (capt), 3 Kumar Sangakkara (wk), 4 Dinesh Chandimal, 5 Upul Tharanga, 6 Lahiru Thirimanne, 7 Angelo Mathews, 8 Thisara Perera, 9 Nuwan Kulasekara, 10 Rangana Herath, 11 Lasith Malinga


Similar Newsgab Articles: